“Nigger” to “Slave”

Where do I begin? I really do find it interesting my second blog assignment is about nigger being replaced with the word slave in Mark Twain’s “Huckleberry Finn”. Honestly I find so much humor in the comparison. Think about it, publishers actually believe this is a justifying idea, to the point it’s made late night television shows such as Jon Stewart and Colbert.  Even those two shows altogether have different views. Now being that I had actually never read “Huckleberry Finn” by Mark Twain, I still have a very clear idea on the novel with its use of language during this time. Isn’t it ironic by the time I reached high school in the United States which was around  2004-2008 it wasn’t even a requirement for students attending Port Richmond High School on Staten Island to read this? Since I was the class president and in the ‘Collegiate Academy’  I did inquire, my response was basically a brush off. Now publishers are saying the use of  nigger should be replaced with  the word slave, which is conflicting. Although the word itself is a derogatory word it is history.  So basically publishers are wanting to whitewash United States history (as Larry Wilmore would say), that is to be a more accessible read for high school students.  Honestly does America even realize what other countries read during high school, try “Zarathustra” by Nietche and if I’m not mistaken the read is compared to the new testament which is the hardest book to read period because of the language.  I absolutely believe nigger should not be replaced. During Mark Twain’s era saying the word about 219 times nigger was definitely a word that was a part of their “slang”, almost how it is today or wait the word today is nigga excuse me.  Is there really a difference? I feel I agree with Larry on John Stewart’s show. United States is really always trying to cover shit up as if we are the perfect country, which is not and every foreigner realizes anyway when they come, so cut it out America. Changing a word that has really shaped society to a word that doesn’t even hold as much emotions is not suitable at all.  Now I cannot speak for every African-American (wanted to be politically correct) but I can say I am not offended with the word being in this novel. It would be hard to say if it the novel was from 2011, not reflecting history.

Personally I feel the word nigger is such a touchy-feely word anyway it needs to be in “Huckleberry Finn” for that purpose, why do we feel it is the word never to say out loud?  BECAUSE OF THE HISTORY, DUH! Listen slavery happened, United States is racist, and blacks are the minorities.  It is just too funny to me the irony behind it all; replacing a word will never replace history. I am realizing it is up to my generation to teach the next generations the true history of this “free” country.

Author: Tiy Hampton

I express what other's think but never say through mixology in New York City. I've worked on radio, I model, I write, I report on events and conduct interviews. I believe you must do what you love in order to truly live. #ForTheLove

Leave a comment